What if shared sales management was for you ?

Le 11 June 2015

This is not about fashion or trends. Neither is it about getting rid of internal posts nor making more profits. It is not the new Eldorado, the Panacea or the Holy Grail. Shared management is above all an ad hoc alternative, i.e. an option that has to be taken at the right moment, for the right reasons and with a specific goal.

An ad hoc option

Whether you are developing or are already well-established, or if you are a micro-business, SME or a key account, there are periods in a company’s life when crucial choices must be made with no mistakes when the aim is to secure the necessary resources to accomplish a task. Considering shared sales management is about giving yourself the means to acquire specific top-end expertise, risk-free and at a cost matching your financial capabilities.

An experienced sales manager with a proven track record, coupled with the advantage of a neutral external perspective, works several days a week in your company to accomplish the specific task defined by you. Their proficiency, their network and their analytical abilities are put to work to develop your sales for a 4-9 month period in general. This is undertaken in cooperation with management and in perfect synergy with in-house sales departments. This, is the principle of shared sales management.

Shared sales management: for who and when?

Shared sales management can be a tactical or a strategic choice made at key moments for a company whether it is a micro-business, an SME or a larger-sized firm. It can be a solution to break into new markets such as pharmaceutics and perfumery, in areas where the company has no appointed sales manager. It is worth considering to start a business or to launch a product, or even in critical situations when in-house staff are unable or unwilling to take on the task due to lack of motivation or expertise. Shared sales management can also be a transitional solution, for example, when a sales manager leaves a company and cover must be found for this gap before finding a replacement.

Lack of time and personnel

Shared sales management can help restore balance when no one has the time to deal with an issue, when the manager goes out of their way to take care of it at the expense of other essential tasks and when the foundations for growth are neglected due to staff shortages.

Lack of resources

When a small-sized company has the same requirements as a larger one but lacks the same financial resources, they must find solutions that are just as efficient but cheaper and less risky. This necessary pragmatism helps it find more flexible solutions that make the business more agile. With time-sharing, the concept of “critical size” of a company is no longer a handicap.

Significant benefits

Enlisting the services of a sales manager on a time-shared basis provides numerous advantages according to different set-ups. It enables the company to refocus on its core business and it ensures the presence of top in-house expertise but without the risk and onerous administration or HR procedures. Time-sharing equates to shared costs and a controlled budget.

Flexibility

The sales manager’s task on a time-shared basis is determined according to actual needs. The scope of action is time-limited in that the company chooses how long the sales manager is present based on their task and the targets set.

New top-level in situ expertise

Shared sales management makes it possible recruit a recognised and experienced expert who is immediately operational and available. They can breathe new life into a business using perfectly mastered tools and knowledge.

Reducing risks

Risk-taking is minimised. The ad hoc dimension helps cut costs, prices are fixed and the budget is therefore perfectly controlled. The company remains in charge of sales management as there is no long-term commitment and any split can be amicably managed if you are not satisfied.

Sales management on a time-shared basis is worth considering but it should not be forgotten that this requires the company to be genuinely involved through additional, supplementary work.

Sales management on a time-shared basis is worth considering but it should not be forgotten that this requires the company to be genuinely involved through additional, supplementary work.

Et si la direction commerciale partagée était faite pour vous ?

Le 11 juin 2015

Ce n’est pas une histoire de mode ni de tendance. Ce n’est pas pour supprimer des postes en interne, ni pour faire plus de bénéfice. Ce n’est pas le nouvel eldorado, ce n’est pas la panacée ni le Graal. La direction partagée, c’est avant tout une alternative ad hoc, c’est-à-dire une option qui doit être choisie au bon moment, pour les bonnes raisons, dans un objectif précis.

Une option ad hoc
Qu’on se développe ou que l’on soit déjà bien installé, que l’on soit une TPE, une PME ou un grand compte, il existe des périodes, dans la vie d’une entreprise, où l’on doit faire des choix cruciaux et ne pas se tromper quand il s’agit d’avoir les ressources nécessaires à l’accomplissement d’une mission. Envisager une direction commerciale partagée, c’est se donner les moyens de s’offrir une compétence spécifique haut de gamme, sans risque et à un coût adapté à ses capacités financières.

Un directeur commercial expérimenté, pouvant apporter les preuves de ses compétences et l’avantage d’un regard extérieur neutre, intervient quelques jours par semaine dans votre entreprise pour accomplir une mission précise définie par vos soins. Ses compétences, son réseau, sa capacité d’analyse sont mis, pour une durée limitée – en général 4 à 9 mois – au service de votre développement commercial, en collaboration avec la direction mais aussi en parfaite synergie avec la direction commerciale en interne. Voilà le principe de la direction commerciale partagée.

La direction commerciale partagée : pour qui et quand ?
La direction commerciale partagée peut-être un choix tactique ou un choix stratégique, effectué dans des moments-charnières pour l’entreprise, qu’elle soit une TPE, une PME ou une entreprise de taille plus conséquente. Elle peut être une solution pour se lancer sur de nouveaux marchés – en pharmacie, en parfumerie – sur des terrains pour lesquels l’entreprise n’a pas de directeur commercial attitré. Elle est envisageable pour un lancement d’entreprise ou pour un lancement de produit ou dans des cas critiques, lorsque personne en interne ne peut ou ne veut assumer une mission, lorsqu’il n’y a pas la motivation ou la compétence. La direction commerciale partagée peut aussi être une solution de transition, lorsqu’un directeur commercial a quitté une entreprise par exemple, et qu’il faut pallier un manque avant le recrutement d’un remplaçant.

Le manque de temps et de personnel
Quand personne n’a le temps de s’occuper d’un dossier, quand le dirigeant donne de sa personne au détriment d’autres missions essentielles, quand les bases du développement sont négligées faute de personnel, une direction commerciale partagée peut aider à retrouver un équilibre.

Le manque de moyens
Quand une entreprise de taille modeste, qui a les mêmes besoins qu’une entreprise plus conséquente, n’a pas les mêmes moyens financiers, elle doit trouver des solutions aussi performantes mais moins coûteuses et moins risquées. Ce nécessaire pragmatisme doit l’amener à trouver des solutions plus flexibles qui la rendront plus agile. Grâce au temps partagé, la notion de « taille critique » d’une entreprise n’est plus un handicap.

Des avantages non négligeables
Choisir de faire appel aux services d’un directeur commercial en temps partagé présente de nombreux avantages, différents suivant les cas de figure : possibilité de se recentrer sur son cœur d’activité, présence d’une expertise de pointe en interne mais sans risque et sans « lourdeurs » administratives ou RH, temps partagé donc coûts partagés, un budget maîtrisé…

La souplesse
La mission du directeur commercial en temps partagé est déterminée en fonction des besoins réels, la périmètre d’intervention est limité en temps : l’entreprise choisit le temps de présence de son directeur commercial, en adéquation avec la mission et les objectifs envisagés.

Une compétence haut de gamme nouvelle in situ
La direction commerciale partagée permet de recruter un expert reconnu, expérimenté, immédiatement opérationnel, disponible, qui va permettre, grâce à des outils et connaissances parfaitement maîtrisés, de donner un nouveau souffle à l’entreprise.

Une réduction des risques
La prise de risque est minime : l’aspect ponctuel permet de réduire les coûts, les prix sont fixes et le budget est donc parfaitement maîtrisé. La maîtrise commerciale reste entre les mains de l’entreprise, il n’y a pas d’engagement sur la durée et la séparation s’effectue en douceur en cas de non satisfaction.

La direction commerciale en temps partagée mérite qu’on s’y intéresse, mais il est important de ne pas oublier qu’elle nécessite de la part de l’entreprise une réelle implication, un travail annexe et complémentaire.